21 Comments

Substack is a place that you can really connect with audience with deep knowledge and understanding of different issues. You feel at home with yourself.

Expand full comment
author

So glad you're here on Substack ... we need more voices.

Expand full comment

Brilliant. See if you can get a straight answer from Substack. I recall the arrogance of the nerds in 1985 when computers came out from the super cooled computer room and onto the desktop. Everyone was excited and petrified with the new technology. NOWHERE in the instructions did it say "Turn the computer on" and where the button was for that. Always and forever when writing, I try to remember what it's like to step into uncertain and you think you are the only one who doesn't master the Art of the Painfully Obvious. So, yes, my Substack writing will happen when I have the answer to the START question.

Expand full comment

I've learned that there are folks out there who want to hear what I have to say! I'm over here like, "Me talk pretty? You sure?"

Expand full comment
author

Yup! Sure.

Expand full comment

Lesson: It's a sandbox. Try things out. Some might have success. Some might not. But it's a great space to figure it out. Also, Substack has helped me commit more to writing. I've got something to publish every week. It's a good discipline to have.

Celebrate: Sending off my next novel "Lose Yourself" to my editor as I plan for a Spring 2024 release. Be ready for a five-part serial tie-in (called the intern) to that novel beginning in November.

Expand full comment
author
Sep 6, 2023·edited Sep 6, 2023Author

Love the sandbox metaphor, giving permission to play and experiment. Nothing is set in concrete. Thanks for sharing. BTW, love your title! ... and FILP verse sent me off wondering what kind of poetry that was ... until I read the rest. ;-)

Expand full comment

Thanks Joyce... And that's the nature of the sandbox. Where else could I write backstories of the characters of one book and tie them to characters in the next book (that otherwise have no connections?) Or the tie-in serial? It brings a lot of fun into the writing that I never expected.

Expand full comment
author

I'm not sure if it's like playing paper dolls or playing God ... but it is way cool.

Expand full comment

Getting started. When I acted on the Substack prompt to GET STARTED, I created an account and gave my newsletter a name. Somehow, Substack created two newsletter accounts--one with my name and one with the name of my publication. I've searched all over the site on how to feed one and delete the other, without wiping out the account. Is this is one of those tricky, nerdy areas known only to people who care about computer coding? How to work on ONE Substack newsletter and dissolve that other thing their robots created when I opened an account?

Expand full comment
author

Georgia ... I have that exact problem also ... and am afraid to delete the other one. I think I'll bring it up at Office Hours tomorrow. Thanks ... I thought it was just me.

Expand full comment
author

General question about metrics ... why are "views" higher than "opens" and sometimes "subscribers?" Possibilities ... multiple opens, views by non subscribers (possibly from Notes or outside Substack), .... ?? And, other than thinking "views" are "good," what else do they tell us?

Expand full comment

Ad blockers can be one reason open rates are off. It often blocks the tracking pixel. There's a few subscribers on my list who I know read my stuff, but stats claim they don't open the email ever.

Expand full comment

I'm new here, a couple of months and I've wondered too about the opens and views, what it means if there's no corresponding likes. Did they read and not bother to like? Or opened and didn't bother to read? Or read and just didn’t like it? I usually always hit like when I read a stack, just to show I read it, and show appreciation for their efforts, and usually there's always something I like. Then for the ones I really enjoyed I comment to let them know or to join the conversation they've started. But apparently from the number of opens and few likes, few do this. Or maybe I just haven't found enough like-minded readers yet.

Expand full comment
author

I understand the statistics on "likes" is really low. Maybe if we all start being more generous with them, they will catch ... ;-)

Expand full comment
author

Small win: They say the first 500 subscribers are the hardest ... so I am definitely celebrating reaching 400.

Expand full comment

Congratulations 🎊

Expand full comment

Most important about Substack - Using Substack I am free to write. Substack handles the tech. The free email collection is one of their secret (well not so secret anymore) weapons.

Expand full comment

I'm 6 months in, and have found a routine, once a week, which is good discipline and not too much pressure. Once a week is practice - I can SEE my writing improving, and my themes consolidating. I'm much less embarrassed about what I put out - even if it's not brilliant. I encourage and respond to every comment on the stack and on Notes - I feel like part of a community, but a community that isn't ringing key doorbell and disturbing me from writing! I'm celebrating being noticed by people who want to read what I write, and those who repost and recommend me. It feels great.

Expand full comment
author

Most important lesson: I blogged for 14 years, whenever I wanted about whatever struck me at the moment. That was nice, but the discipline of timing and focus that Substack imposes is transforming my thinking and my writing. I find myself being more aware ... connecting more dots ... digging deeper. Thank you, Substack.

Expand full comment