15 Comments

Lăcătuș Mariana cere rezolvare și colaborare

Expand full comment

Vă rog colet poștal la adresa cerută nu sa ridicat suma de decind sa aprobat de 2 judecatori nu sa ridicat suma 4 luni vă rog am greutăți familiale

Expand full comment

Another good question. I do not use the app, which I think is a phone thing or an iPad thing. I use my phone to talk. The only two apps I use on my phone are maps and weather. I have no iPad. I run everything from my MacAirM1 with the latest operating systems and updates. So, when I click on a newsletter, I am sent to a two step verification every damn time. Too bad they can't just check you past security, like they do at the airport and you can access all gates.

Expand full comment
author

That's odd. Like you, I do almost everything from my laptop and never encounter that verification thing. However, I probably go to most new newsletters through Notes. I wonder if it's related to your unpublished status? I don't know if they're doing Office Hours this week but I could ask about it. That would be a very off-putting requirement.

Expand full comment

Right. Not asking for hand holding. It's more of an expert check down YOUR list of experience. My experience as a technical writer taught me how many missing steps and assumptions a creator or developer makes because something is already intuitive to them. I finally figured out how to eliminate the extra newsletter Substack assumed for me and in doing so, I lost the name I gave to what is the real newsletter. There is no way in Substack to correct that other than blow up everything and start over, like you were never here, never a subscriber, never an author.

Expand full comment
author

I asked Office Hours about that extra newsletter since I have one also ... I was told it was okay to delete ... still haven't had the nerve to do it since it's not actually causing problems. Sounds like I should continue to leave it alone. When are you wanting to go live? Since you're still "coming soon" I can't see anything and wonder what would be helpful for you.

Expand full comment

Thank you. Almost there. I feel like someone gave me instructions on how to build a machine gun and before I load it and pull any trigger, I think someone needs to check me out and make sure I don't harm myself or others.

So many moving parts that are supposed to benefit the relationship with readers and wonder if it's platform overkill? For example, why do I have to go through two step verification every time, over an over, all day long, when I want to move from one paid Substack subscription to the next? That "Halt.... Who Goes There" command could shut down readers who are not as persistent as me.

Expand full comment
author

I think there are a lot of things that slow us down in the beginning and you question has me pondering a service I could offer paid subscribers. I could do a review of your site and respond with most stuff by email. I'd rather not do a bunch of phone one-on-ones, but the checklist review and a group zoom might be effective since people are facing so many of the same issues. I've been meaning to put together a checklist anyway. I haven't experienced the verification stuff ... is that when you come in through email ... or the app?

Expand full comment

Great question. Did you say you offer a Bells and Whistles final countdown service? Or do you know some who does? You've published pages and pages of instructions so I'm pretty sure I can read. It's just a lot and I'm thinking someone facile with all of this could check me out so I can post, post, post. I have the content written. I'm still on the dock trying to figure out where or how to get all of this loaded into the right places in the cargo ship called Substack.

Expand full comment
author

Georgia ... I could do that for you ... hadn't thought of it as a service but makes sense. Why don't you email me and we can think through what you would need. jwycoff@gratitudemojo.com

Expand full comment

Accessing the dashboard from the app instead of online would help for edits on the go.

Expand full comment
author

Yes! I'll make a note of this and bring it up at Office Hours.

Expand full comment

What slows me down is dedicated time to implement all the little touches that will enhance the reader experience. I only focus on the content of my weekly post and then consider myself 'done' for six days.

Expand full comment
author

Once a lot of the "system" work is done, it makes the weekly posts easier ... anyway, that is the intent. ;-)

Expand full comment