13 Comments
Oct 5, 2023Liked by Joyce Wycoff

Yes! Yes! Yes!

Expand full comment
Oct 5, 2023Liked by Joyce Wycoff

It is me Joyce -- I think because I'm logging in from a different URL in another country, it didn't register me. :)

Expand full comment
author

How fun to connect here! When you're back, let's talk!

Expand full comment
Oct 5, 2023Liked by Joyce Wycoff

I have a 'semi' rule - semi because It's not really cast in stone, just my personal goal/preference, to only use images I've created or taken. I use my art a lot and include an inspirational quote from something I've written. When I'm travelling, like now, while in Ireland, I include photos. As other's have said, graphics/images are essential!

I use PicMonkey rather than Canva -- not sure why. I think because I stumbled upon it first and am now accustomed to it. On a rare occassion, I'll use one of their stock photos as my part of my graphic.

Expand full comment
author

I also use your semi-rule. However, I've talked with one Substack author who designs what he wants and then has a "pro" actually do the artwork. Anything but "stock photo looking" stock photos is my other semi-rule..

Expand full comment
author

First ... Louise from Canada? If so, wow! and Ireland! Hope you're having a grand time. I don't think I could be here if I couldn't use photos and art.

Expand full comment

I still create my own graphics, I love to design and can spend hours on it. Pinterest is a great place for inspiration but you need to be mindful about not going down the rabbit hole. Nowadays it’s so much easier with Canva to help you get started but you still need a plan and a vision.

Expand full comment
author

Susan ... you're right about the rabbit hole. Love your graphics.

Expand full comment

Thank you ☺️

Expand full comment

I often use Dall E (2 until this week, but recently, Dall E has been upgraded to version 3). I've played with other AI image generators and pretty much enjoy all of them, although I have the most experience with the Bing interface. Sometimes I'll snap a pic of art I've made, but that's really rare. Other times, a photo that references something I want to say (even the occasional meme) does the trick.

GIFs, too.

Expand full comment
author

thanks for those details!

Expand full comment
author

Would love to hear your thoughts about graphics

https://gratitudemojo.substack.com/p/whats-your-graphic-strategy/comments

Expand full comment
author

I love making my own graphics and memes ... primarily from photos I take. Maybe I never actually outgrew my childhood picture books, but interesting photos and infographics really light up my joy in reading and learning.

Expand full comment